Fall 2006 Results Summary

December 1, 2006

The fall of 2006 saw a field of 17 10K runners and 5 5K runners tackle the RIM park course on a cold, rainy, miserable day. With a late fall date, the weather was the biggest wild card heading into the race, the week preceeding the race had seen temps in the mid teens. However on race day the weather turned and it was 1C, with driving rain and wind. Added to the difficult weather conditions was a small pond that had to be traversed on the course at about the 1k mark. This 18 inch deep pond was on the paved path of the Walter Bean trail and made for some soaking feet and numb lower limbs for the remainder of the run.

In the 10K, proven bad weather runner Rick Groot delivered the goods once again. In a four person foot race most of the way, Rick used his experience in poor weather conditions to meter out his effort just about perfectly. Rick turned in a time of 42:05, just 5 seconds above his predicted time. Ryan Groen posted the fasted 10K run time on this day in a time of 40:50 and was second closest to his predicted time, only 10 seconds off.

The 5K race saw only 5 competitors this time, however some excellent performances were turned in with only 3 seconds separating the top three athletes. In the end Peter Aultman (14 seconds off) edged out Heather Haslam (16 seconds) and Lori Stephen (17 seconds). Scott Near turned in the fastest 5K time at 27:10

fall 06 Run Down race

Two runners navigate the Walter Bean 'pond' at the 1k point in the run course

fall 06 puddle jumpers
10 km Results
Rick Groot, champion fall 2006
10 KM Results
5 km Results
Peter Aultman, 5K champion
5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is - Michael Olmstead - with a time differential of 1 minute, 10 seconds below his predicted time of 42:59.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Dan Burton wins with a total difference of 1:25.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Peter Mostert
Alison Burton
Jim Wendland
Mandy Beauchesne
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Sue D'Aloisio - volunteers & prizes
Jason Leduc - prize table, awesome prizes Jason!!!
Bob Dawson - race results and web site
Dan Burton - we're not sure what he does