Fall 2009 Results Summary

November 6, 2009

The Fall of 2009 version of the race was held on a brisk sunny fall day with temperatures around 3C. The field held 11 10K runners and 10 5K runners, on hand to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the race.

Mike Theunissen became a first time winner of the 10K race by turning in a time of 44:16, a mere 6 seconds off his prediction of 44:10. He was followed in second place by Shannon Leduc, fresh off her Chicago marathon finish, and dialed in at only 12 seconds off her prediction of 58 minutes. Dan Burton rounded out the podium missing his mark by only 14 seconds.

In the 5k, Cathy Cranbury repeated her spring victory by nailing her time again, this time within 2 seconds with an effort of 28:42. Mike Brenneman was second 19 seconds under his prediction of 27:40 and Sydney Pereira was 40 seconds off to take 3rd place.

The only person to run all of the races over the 20 year history of the race, Dan Burton also turned in the fasted 10K time of the day at 41:19, edging Ryan Groen by 2 seconds.

Bob Dawson had the fastest 5K time at 21:39

It was great to see Moe Danis out at the race, we've all missed not seeing Moe as much as we've been used over the past 20+ years. It was even better to see Moe walk off with the Shoe of Shame. Booooooo Moe!!

We all owe Mike Brenneman a big round of thanks for his great new spreadsheet program that helps us get results quickly and accurately. The beta run of the new program will be better than ever in the spring of 2010!! Great work Mike!

Fall 2009 Run Down race
10 km Results
Mike Theunissen, 10k race champion
10 KM Results
5 km Results
Cathy Cranbury takes the 5K title
5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is 10K runner - Moe Danis - with a pathetic shameful time differential of 2 minutes 3 seconds below his predicted time of 47:00.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Sydney Pereira wins with a total difference of 0:32.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Jim Wendland
Sue D'Aloisio
Kathy Dawson
Chloe Dawson
Kelsey Dawson
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Sue D'Aloisio - volunteers
Jason Leduc - prize table
Bob Dawson - race results & web site
Dan Burton - we're not sure what he does