Fall 2011 Results Summary

October 21, 2011

The day was as cold and raw as it looked in the photos but at least the rain held off. Don't be fooled when you see the shot of Alan running with no shirt. What was really going on is that Steffi was right on his heels all race (having run a 3:06 marathon 10 days ago and fighting a chest cold) and Al was pushed to the limit. Sadly, the Shoe of Shame winner was Sue (so we called her Shoe D'Aloisio !!!). Shannon Leduc brought her new son Owen out to the restaurant after the run - another highlight from the day.

Dan Burton secured his 4th Rundown victory and tied Alan Farquhar for the most victories in the 10k. Alan has the fastest 10k time just slipping under 40 minutes at 39:54. Pretty sweet time for an old guy.

Mike Brenneman won the 5K, by coming within 5 seconds of his predicted time of 26:03.

fall 2011 Run Down race

The Fall 2011 race featured a reunion of some of the old time race veterans

fall 2011 Run Down race picture

10K Winner Dan Burton

10 KM Results

5K Winner Mike Brenneman

5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is 10K runner - Sue D'Aloisio - with a time differential of 2 minutes 28 seconds below her predicted time of 53:00.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Mike Wigglesworth wins with a total difference of 1 minute 28 seconds.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Jim Wendland
Olena Koulik
Cathy Cranbury
Sue D'Aloisio ( Because Sue won the shoe of shame she got to hand out the numbers as people crossed. It is a new punishment.)
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Glen Bergen - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Mike Wigglesworth - trophy engraving
Bob Dawson - web site
Dan Burton - bossing others