Fall 2013 Results Summary

Friday November 8, 2013

After confirming with Jim, our race historian, we realized that 24 runners came out to enjoy a race first, well actually three race firsts.

  1. Over the past 24 years this race has been run with snow on the ground but the 48th running of the RunDown race was the first race to have snow falling during the race!
  2. This was the first time that we had a bike mounted with video cameras on the course capturing our race! Thanks to Phil Gibson for his camera work! Here is a link to the video.
  3. We had our first racer walk the course while expecting! Well done Shannon, congrats!!

Alison Burton has long had a tradition of combining the running of the 5K race with carrying a camera to stop and capture shots of the runners along the course. In the spring 2013 race, she surprised everyone by winning the 5k within 2 seconds of her predidcted time. As if that wasn't hard enough, today with camera in hand again, Alison became a back to back 5k winner running within 28.83 seconds of her predicted time.

Deciding one trophy in the house wasn't enough, hubby Dan Burton became our most decorated winner with his 5th 10k win. He was 3.58 seconds off his prediction.

Carrie Theunissen won the Beat the Handicapper contest, while the dreaded Shoe of Shame award goes to Christa Hallman.

We had a great turn out for this race and look forward toward even more runners next year as we approach our 50th race next fall.

Spring 2013 picture

10K Winner Dan Burton

10 KM Results
fall 2013 Run Down race

5K Winner Alison Burton

5 KM Results
spring 2013 Run Down race
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
Shoe of shame
And the winner is 5K runner Christa Hallman who finished 6 minutes and 8 seconds ahead of her prediction. Perhaps she was trying to win the award?? Christa, it is a shoe of SHAME!
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Carrie Theunissen wins with a total difference of 142.4 seconds.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous help of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Jim Wendland
Olena Koulik
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Glen Bergen - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Mike Wigglesworth - trophy engraving
Bob Dawson, Ryan Groen - web site
Dan Burton - bossing others