Spring 2006 Results Summary

June 2, 2006

The spring of 2006 saw a field of 18 10K runners and 21 5K runners tackle the RIM park course on a humid, early June day.

In the 10K, a first time runner, Diana Wiffen was the closest to her predicted time turning in an effort of 49:22, 22 seconds above her prediction. A late entrant, Diana's participation required some arm twisting from several of her friends. The smile on her face when she was presented with the trophy certainly said it all. Close behind Diana was another first time participant Neil Cameron, 26 seconds off his time. Rick Groot posted the fastest 10K time of the day (40.17) and was third closest to his prediction at 28 seconds under.

The 5K race faced some controversy at the finish line. It appeared that Rundown race veteran Alison Burton, had scooped the trophy when the name of Carol Patterson came up. A race day entrant, Carol didn't appear on the entry sheets, but she did complete the 5K course 12 seconds off her predicted time tying Alison for the 5K title.

Jim Wendland turned in the fastest 5K time at 19:30, followed closely by Bob Dawson (can't ride a bike) at 19:38. Brian Walmsley was third fastest at 23.56. In the 10K Ryan Groen followed Rick Groot with the second fastest time at 40.55 and Dan Burton was third with 41.09.

Spring 06 Run Down race
10 km Results
First time runner, Diana Wiffen, champion Spring 2006
10 KM Results
5 km Results
Alison Burton and Carol Paterson share the 5K title
5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is - Maribel Linfield - with a time differential of 11 minutes below her predicted time of 1 hour 20 minutes.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Mike Theunissen wins with a total difference of 1:17.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Peter Mostert
Shannon Leduc
Stephanie Edwards
Mandy Beauchesne
Chloe Dawson
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Sue D'Aloisio - volunteers
Jason Leduc - prize table, awesome prizes Jason!!!
Bob Dawson - race results and web site
Dan Burton - we're not sure what he does