Spring 2009 Results Summary

May 22, 2009

Spring 2009 marked the 39th running of the Rundown Race and 28 runners gathered on a perfect 18C day to enjoy each other’s company and get a little exercise. Our volunteers did a wonderful job as always but made the start a little more exciting with some “just in time” arrivals and watch button confusion. Despite these small challenges, the race went off without a hitch and, when the smoke cleared, we had 5K and 10K champions that were both within 10 seconds of their predicted times.

In her longest run since an 8K in Canmore, Alberta (Sept 2000), Kathy Dawson took the 10K trophy, finishing only 5 seconds off her prediction. In winning the 10K title for the first time, Kathy becomes the first runner in the history of the race to have her name on both the 5K and 10K trophies.

In the 5K, Cathy Cranbury dominated with a time only 8 seconds off her prediction. Our fastest runner was Jim Wendland at 39:09 showing that 24x7 hardcore training does in fact pay off. Everyone else had varying degrees of fun based on how prepared they were for the big hill at the end. Honourable mention goes to Alison Burton who turned a DNF into the best photographed race we’ve ever had (see Dan Burton’s Facebook for the full album of race photos).

Spring 2009 Run Down race
10 km Results
Kathy Dawson, 10k race champion, spring 2009 10 KM Results
5 km Results
Cathy Cranbury takes the 5K title 5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is - Julie Candela - with a time differential of 2 minutes 30 seconds below her predicted time of 1:05:00.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Carrie Theunissen wins with a total difference of 0:43 seconds.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Peter Mostert
Dee Keil
Helen Ruetz
Kathy Braungart
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - prepartion of race entries and fee collection and race results
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Sue D'Aloisio - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Bob Dawson - web site
Dan Burton - we're still not sure what he does!
A picture from the race finish line.
Spring 2009 Run Down race