Spring 2010 Results Summary

May 21, 2010

The Spring of 2010 version of the race was held on a warm sunny day of about 24C. The field held 16 10K runners and 9 5K runners.

Sam Lancaster dominated the 10K runners coming within 6 seconds of his predicted time of 45:45 by running a stellar time of 45:54 just squeezing in under the magical 46 minute barrier. He was followed in second place by Alan Rooks, who was also the fastest 10K runner on the day, sprinting to the finish like to break 40 minutes in 39:58. Joanne Wagner rounded out the podium missing her mark by a mere 30 seconds.

In the 5k, Nancy Brookbank was top of the field only 9 seconds under her prediction of 29:05. Rachel Hartviksen had the fastest 5K time at 23:08, 22 seconds under her prediction, and Sydney Pereira was 24 seconds off to take 3rd place.

Back in the fold for this race was Helen Ruetz. Clearly Helen is not as dialed in to her pacing as she once was, as she took home the dreaded shoe of shame by running the 5K a full 1 minute 20 seconds under her predicted time.

Spring 2010 Run Down race

A group of enthusiatic runners get ready to toe the line

Spring 2010 Run Down race
10 km Results
Sam Lancaster, 10k race champion
10 KM Results
5 km Results
Nancy Brookbank takes the 5K title
5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is 10K runner - Helen Ruetz - with a time differential of 1 minutes 20 seconds below her predicted time of 35:00 in the 5k.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Mike Theunissen wins with a total difference of 2 minutes.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Jim Wendland
Sue D'Aloisio
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Sue D'Aloisio - volunteers
Jason Leduc - prize table
Bob Dawson - web site
Dan Burton - we're not sure what he does