Spring 2011 Results Summary

May 27, 2011

The Spring 2011 version of the race was held on a cloudy spring day of about 15C. The field held only 7 10K runners and 12 5K runners.

Ryan Groen had a soft win in the 10K coming within 36 seconds of his predicted time of 41:30. Ryan left the race feeling that he stole one, as in past races there have been many runners come with 36 seconds with nothing to show for their efforts. Ryan also had the fastest 10k of the day.

Tammy McNammee won the 5K, teaching Ryan how its done by coming within 2 seconds of her predicted time of 31:15.

The embarrassing, shameful Shoe of Shame award went to Bob Baxter. Boo!

Spring 2011 Run Down race

10K Winner Ryan Groen

10 KM Results

5K Winner Tammy McNamee

5 KM Results
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is 10K runner - Bob Baxter - with a time differential of 3 minutes 11 seconds below his predicted time of 50:00.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Mike Wigglesworth wins with a total difference of 2 minute 28 seconds.
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous contribution of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Jim Wendland
Carrie Theunissen
Cathy Cranbury
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Glen Bergen - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Mike Wigglesworth - trophy engraving
Bob Dawson - web site
Dan Burton - bossing others