Spring 2013 Results Summary

Friday May 24, 2013

After starting the week with punishingly hot, humid days, race day was 8 degrees with a healthy wind chill. This race also featured the return of the "puddle", a flooded section of the path that cannot be avoided (Jim kept that fact to himself so each runner could experience the moment on the fly). Alison has long had a tradition of combining the running of the 5K race with carrying a camera to stop and capture shots of the runners along the course. To everyone's surprise, she predicted the time for this adventure within 2 seconds to capture the 5K trophy (even stopping to snap a "selfie" along the way as though she knew a winner's photo might be needed). In the 10K, long time supporter of this event Sue D'Aloisio became a first time winner. Sue almost missed the run due to work deadlines and had to skip lunch to get back to the office but her dedication to the run certainly paid off. In the Beat the Handicapper contest, Ryan Groen came out on top which eased the pain of running the fastest 10K but not trusting his conditioning enough to predict that time (which he felt sure cost him the 10K trophy). As we approach our 50th race next fall, we've had to add a new base layer to both trophies to hold the impressive history of our winners. Who would have imagined the race would be going strong after so long - amazing!

spring 2013 Run Down race

10K Winner Sue D'Asloisio

10 KM Results
spring 2013 Run Down race

5K Winner Alison Burton

5 KM Results
spring 2013 Run Down race
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
And the winner is 10K runner - Tyler Whittier - with a time differential of 1 minutes 28 seconds below the predicted time of 52:00.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Ryan Groen wins with a total difference of 57 seconds.
Race Volunteers
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland - race course detail
Glen Bergen - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Mike Wigglesworth - trophy engraving
Bob Dawson - web site
Dan Burton - bossing others