Spring 2015 Results Summary

Friday June 12, 2015

The weather forecast for our 51st race promised us a wet run, however it turned out to be fantastic weather for running and everyone but the last few racers managed to finish before the rain started. Rather than our regular post race picture location, we all took shelter from the rain under Glen's portable gazebo while a few quick pictures were taken.

This race saw 33 runners toe the line and with some accurate run predictions, it made for an exciting finish. An amazing 16 runners were within 30 seconds of their time!!

The 5k race was a battle with 3 runners coming within 5 seconds of their time. Craig Farhood was 4.65 seconds off his time, second time runner Karen Summers was 3.9 seconds off her time, but the trophy went to Michael Theunissen who was only 0.33 slower than his predicted time!

In the 10K, Glen Bergen won the trophy for the second time. He ran 1.79 seconds slower than his time! Interstingly, both times Glen won the 10K he couldn't decide on a run time, so Michael Theunissen actually chose for him. Glen, maybe you should let Mike enter your time from now on!

Carrie Theunissen won the Beat the Handicapper, while the dreaded Shoe of Shame goes to Scott Near.

We had a great turn out for this race and look forward to seeing everyone back in the fall!!!

Spring 2015 picture
10 KM Results - Winner Glen Bergen
Spring 2015 Run Down race 10k winner
5 KM Results - Winner Michael Theunissen
Spring 2015 Run Down race 5k winner
Shoe of Shame Award
The Shoe of Shame is awarded to the runner whose result is less than their submitted predicted time by the greatest amount.
Shoe of shame
This race, the shame falls on the shoulders of Scott Near. However, at only 2 mins and 4 seconds ahead of his time, this is one of the softer shoe of shame wins.
Beat the Handicapper Contest
The Beat the Handicapper Contest is won by the person who correctly guesses the results of four other runners most accurately.
Carrie Theunissen is very familiar with winning this contest. She wins again with a total difference of 77.69 seconds. Perhaps we should just have her pick the run times for everyone!
Race Volunteers
The race wouldn't be a success without the generous help of the race volunteers. This year's volunteers were :
Olena Koulik
Kathy Braungart
Jim Wendland
Race Organizing Committee
The race comes together twice a year through the efforts of the race organizing committee.
Alison Burton - race communication
Mike Theunissen - race results & preparation of race entries and fee collection
Jim Wendland, Mike Williams - race course detail
Glen Bergen - volunteers
Tracey Taylor-Wood - prize table
Olena Koulik - trophy engraving
Bob Dawson, Ryan Groen - web site
Dan Burton - bossing others